Highlights from the 2024 American Journey Awards


The Ron Brown Scholar Program invites you to visit our 2024 American Journey Awards highlight page. This online showcase lets you see the accomplishments and inspiring speeches from this year’s distinguished honorees and speakers.

Available now at ronbrown.org/aja2024, you can explore exclusive content, including a dynamic video highlight of the event, individual recordings of each recipient’s introduction, and a captivating photo gallery capturing the spirit of the celebration.

This year’s AJA celebrated exceptional leadership and contribution to the community with awards in several categories. The American Journey Award 2024 was presented to Ms. Sheila Johnson, Founder and CEO of the Salamander Collection, recognizing her groundbreaking work in entertainment, hospitality, and philanthropy. Ms. Johnson’s extensive portfolio and leadership inspire and exemplify the transformative impact one individual can have across diverse sectors.

The American Journey Award for Emerging Leadership honored Dr. Brandon L. Nicholson, a 2001 Ron Brown Scholar and founding Executive Director of The Hidden Genius Project, which trains and mentors Black male youth in technology creation, entrepreneurship, and leadership skills to transform their lives and communities.

The Christopher A. Pilaro Fellowship in the Arts was awarded to Margaret Ivey, a 2007 Ron Brown Scholar. An accomplished actor and teaching artist, Ivey has significantly contributed to the arts while actively engaging in community education and empowerment through her craft.

Dr. Carmelle T. Norice, a 1997 Ron Brown Scholar and the Clinical Director of Infectious Diseases Clinical Research at Merck Research Laboratories, received the Robert B. Binswanger Communitarian Award for her outstanding contributions to public health and her dedicated service to community uplift.

The American Journey Awards are a testament to the Ron Brown Scholar Program’s enduring commitment to nurturing leaders dedicated to public service and community transformation. Through this annual event, the Program continues its mission of promoting exceptional individuals who lead with integrity, innovation, and an unwavering commitment to excellence.

We warmly invite students, educators, community leaders, and all supporters of educational equity and leadership development to visit the 2024 AJA highlight page. Experience the powerful speeches, relive the event’s memorable moments, and celebrate the achievements of these remarkable leaders who are making a significant difference in the world.